I cannot, at the time of writing see the point of English literature as a subject, with qualifications. What benefit does it give mankind? I accept it as a hobby or pastime (where it is usually referred to as ‘Reading old books’) but as an A-Level Qualification? What do you do in it? I was obliged to do a GCSE in English Literature and hated it. I didn’t particularly like regular English lessons, but i saw the point of them and tried hard to get the grades. I still worked hard at the Lit but constantly felt Cynical about it.

As far as I can see it there is no real benefit for these courses and the only career path from I can see is English Literature Teacher.

I welcome all corrections, I just feel that the more i piss you off the higher chance ill get some answers, plus its jolly good fun.

